Keeping wild pet spiders

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Connor

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm new to this and just want some advice. I recently picked up a redback spider while on holiday. I thought it would be fun keeping one and letting it go before I went home, but now she lives in a small tank next to my bed. She's literally doubled in size since I got her around a month ago. She lives off beetles, ants, moths, grasshoppers, small gecko's and other spiders that I can get hold of. Her web she's constructed to be able to maintain catching an eating these prey I put in her enclosure is basically an ultimate death trap. Although the tank is 15cm long and 10cm wide, her abdomen is around the same size as a 5c coin, and she is slowly getting bigger. She fits fairly nicely inside, however, as she's been growing, she seems to making her web bigger each time and now it has taken over the whole tank. I'm just wondering is it time to upgrade and get a bigger enclosure, or should I just leave it as this one is working well for her? I'll try and put a photo of her growth procession up soon, she's one pretty girl. :)

I dont know much about spiders except that they have more limbs than I am comfortable with
[Lobsters and crabs have a similar number but at least they are edible so they can be excused for giving me more to chow down on]
Only thing I would comment on would be feeding it geckos
This is a reptile lovers site and many people may be a bit upset about that
Plenty of other prey to give it

I'm with longqi....geckos? :(

I fed my girls 2-5 large crickets every 2-3 day (depending how hungry they were) I kept them in seperate tanks. Each measured 20x20x40 (Lxwxh) They were happy in there until they got bigger and mum made me relese them :evil: