N.Levis Levis Newbie

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_vieira4

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hai guys, PV4 here from Novocastria NSW!
I'm new to reptiles in general.
Am looking to get a N.Levis Levis Smooth Knob-Tailed gecko and there's a list of questions I have that either youtube, google or forums have brought up and I'm kinda interested to know.
Thanks in advance for any answers, and sorry if it's the same old questions you read all the time but any time spent to answer my questions are greatly appreciated!

- Is desert sand a requirement? I watched a YouTube video where a guy used play sand from Bunnings - will that work ok too? Was planning on 1/2-1" of sand on the hot side and 3-4" sand on the cold side of the tank. Does that sound about right?
- My plan is to use crickets as food. I plan on feeding the crickets sliced-up carrots, some gutload-esque substance (feeding the crickets about half-hour to an hour before feeding gecko), and dusting them just prior to feeding. I pretty much plan on picking the cricket up and dropping him in the cage, and letting the levis chase him. What other methods are there for feeding him? From what I read, a levis basically wants to be fed 2 crickets every second day (the crickets being half-3/4 the size of the gecko head), is that right? Is that a good guide to be working off?