Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ethan

Reaction score
Hey.

I'm really wanting a sand monitor but I want to be able to handle it and take it out lots, is this I good idea? I have no experience with keeping monitor only experience handling monitor while volunteering at zoos
I just want a really good monitor for a first monitor that I can handle and show people.
I have a 2300 x 700 x 700 custom enclosure with heating a lighting
I just really need help deciding if this monitor is the correct choice? And also any tips that might help with care , handleing, "tameing"

Thanks.

Usually with reptiles people will tell you to pick the one you want and research about it and its care. With monitors, it"s a bit different. If that is the only time you have had contact with a larger monitor, I would recommend going out and handling more, whether at shops, or other keepers' houses, or expos.
In terms of handling, sandies aren't the worst, but some can be quite "difficult". With monitors, you will always have the risk of being scratched or bitten; this is why handling experience is important. A smaller monitor might be the go, like an ackie. With time and patience, they can be handled well. Or if you really want a larger monitor, get a flavirufus instead of a "normal" sandie. From my own experience and from speaking to ther keepers, they seem to be better than straight sandies.
And most importantly, get Danny Brown's book, "A Guide to Australian Monitors in Captivity".