New 2 Turtles...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fenno

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I am new to owning a turtle :). He/She is a busy little thing and eating very well. I just had a couple of questions, hoping that someone out there would give me a hand with...

Firstly, I haven't seen it basking on its dock. How often do turtles bask? I thought it would at least be daily. We have only had it for a week so it's probably still getting use to its surrounds?

The other is whether turtles need air stones like fish? (Obviously aware that turtles have lungs) but just have my best intentions at heart.

Any turtle tips would be awesome.

Thanks heaps

If you have a good filter you won't need air stones. A good filter should be turning over your tank's water about 3-4 times an hour and external filters are the best. What sized tank do you have and what size is your turtle?

As for basking, turtles especially when they're small are very shy so chances are you may not actually get to see it bask when you're around. Our turtle used to run straight into the water whenever we got up in the morning. The tank was in the other room and the only way we knew she was basking at all was because we heard the splash when she heard us moving around in the bedroom and that was only once she reached a size large enough to make an audible sound.
Do you have a heat source above the basking area? That will help entice your turtle out and encourage it to bask if you're not sure it is.

Have a look at the Australian freshwater turtle forum mate. All the info you need there. :)