Newbie/Stimson Questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

katen

Reaction score
Hi all! I am a newbie here at Aussie Pythons and at owning snakes - I got my first Stimson Python juvenile early June and he has been fine ever since.

However, about a week ago I was watching him in the tank and noticed he blew what looked like a snot bubble. I immediately began to suspect an RI (although I haven't seen it happen since). He is in the process of shedding at the moment and I also notice popping/cracking sounds when I listen close to the tank or if I hold him when he's moving. I can't tell whether this is coming from his mouth though (even writing this a foot away from the tank I can hear faint popping every now and then, which is very concerning, but he is in his hide so I can't see what he's doing).

However, tonight I was observing him again and noticed he is yawning a lot. Not always full yawns, but every so often he will open his mouth half way for a couple of seconds and then close it. I am going to ring the vets in the morning to make an appointment, however I am unsure as to whether I should let him shed first before transporting him. He has been hissing at me tonight when I get close to the tank trying to watch his yawning, so I am unsure of how he would go during transport to the vets whilst still in shed.

Although I am going to take him to the vets, I would appreciate some advice by anyone who has been in a similar situation. I'm really concerned. My biggest fear is that I've made him sick!

Hi, and welcome to APS.