Question about looking for snakes at night

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ethan241

Reaction score
I am new to herping and I have a few spots in mind to search for snakes at night. I am wondering though as this spring as cooled down what temperatures would be considered best for looking for nocturnal snakes such as Stephen's banded snakes, death adders, brown tree snakes, small-eyed snakes, etc.

Hey mate, from the look of the species your searching for I would imagine your in se qld or north eastern NSW?
For all those species except for D.A's, wait for those balmy summer nights, like the sort that's hard to sleep without air con. Even better is an arvo shower of rain before hand and a hot humid night, also look for road kill, we had one spot near mudgereeba that a few times a year would see huge numbers of brown tree snakes crossing the road over a period of a week or so in spring and then again in Autumn.
For death adders again hot nights are best but around a 3-7 days before a full moon and then again 3-7 days after the full moon.
There are definitely peak times of activity in moving from different areas in relation to the seasons.
Good luck dude and have fun.

Hey mate, from the look of the species your searching for I would imagine your in se qld or north eastern NSW?
For all those species except for D.A's, wait for those balmy summer nights, like the sort that's hard to sleep without air con. Even better is an arvo shower of rain before hand and a hot humid night, also look for road kill, we had one spot near mudgereeba that a few times a year would see huge numbers of brown tree snakes crossing the road over a period of a week or so in spring and then again in Autumn.
For death adders again hot nights are best but around a 3-7 days before a full moon and then again 3-7 days after the full moon.