Resting snake

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mack86

Reaction score
I'm sure this is normal snake behaviour because my snake does this ALOT but this is also why I am concerned as I'm worried there's an underlying concern.

He rests his head on the inside of his plant pot hide looking straight up to the sky quite often. It's his cold hide as well and he barely leaves it. It's rare I see him in his hot hide. I'm sure it's just comfortable for him, but did read they do this when they have an infection.

Couple that with a wrinkly, non eating snake and I just feel like I need to ask this question in case. Is this just normal snake behaviour to rest with head looking up quite often?

Thanks.

I'm no expert, but I would suggest providing some extra information may assist in someone in-the-know giving a more detailed response:

1) What type of snake is it?

2) What age?

3) When was the last time the snake fed?

4) How long have you had the snake (or had the snake in that enclosure)

5) When was the last time the snake shed?

6) When did the behaviour start, and how long has it been going on for?

My snake doesn't often use her hot hide. She's happy to be out in the open on the hot side. She'll go into the cold hide from time to time, but on the hot side I normally see her out more than in.

I'm no expert, but I would suggest providing some extra information may assist in someone in-the-know giving a more detailed response:

1) What type of snake is it?

2) What age?

3) When was the last time the snake fed?

4) How long have you had the snake (or had the snake in that enclosure)

5) When was the last time the snake shed?

6) When did the behaviour start, and how long has it been going on for?