small diamond python

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daniel648392

Not so new Member
Reaction score
122363923_369361940851747_307304326312741601_n.jpg Hey guys,
I've picked up this 2 year old diamond today and he seems undersized? previous owner had told me he was eating one fuzzy a fortnight. To sum it up he hasn't been taken care of very well, the temperature in the enclosure hasn't been regulated properly. I have little experience with snakes although he seems fine whilst out of enclosure during handling. Hopefully you can see the attached photo

Poor thing. Bet it's always hungry. I imagine it should be eating a rat every seven days or so by that age....

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

Yeh I think he's been stressed as she was saying she sometimes would have to just leave the fuzzy in the enclosure cause he wouldn't take it immediately. Need to get this guy healthy again. I'm wanting to upgrade enclosure to something a lot bigger (around a metre in height) could that stress the snake out more tho?
[doublepost=1603624441,1603624344][/doublepost]Also what should my next steps be with feeding. She last fed him a fuzzy on Thursday so should I try another this coming Thursday or maybe sooner?

Are you sure he is 2 yr old? Personally I wouldn't be too concerned about the size of the snake, be more concerned by its condition.
Just looking at this picture alone, its difficult to tell but if you softly pinch along the side of the snake, is there loose skin? Can you feel ribs?
If he is underweight you would feel loose skin and or ribs, he would also be very lethargic, and slow.

Offer him a rat approx 1.5x the thickest part of his body every 7 - 10 days and continue increasing the size with his growth.