Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Retic

Almost Legendary
Reaction score
It's a simple question but the answer seems to be very complicated and probably more complicated than it needs to be.
When is a Jungle a Jungle and not a mcdowelli ?
For example what is the snake in this photo ? Is it mcdowelli or cheynei and why is it one and not the other ? It is a few years old and about 4 feet long.
DSC_0319_resize.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
This will be interesting, I am also keen to know how people decide what is what.

In my little experience the first thing I look for is a strong solid black head pattern, with a solid black line along the side of the head through the eye. So going by that I would call it a jungle, but I have no field experience in jungle teritory so I am ready to be proven wrong lol.

This is a very hard thing to answer as it brings up the topic of hybrids! The way i usally tell the differnce between a jungle and a coastal is the head scales on a coastal tend to be alot larger then a jungle, As well as the head pattern. This is a good topic but it can also be put towards with many other species of the carpet python group!

Well I am hoping it is interesting as I have lost count of how many 'what is my snake' threads, only to see no real consensus reached at the end.

interesting, tho i wont make a comment either way. maybe worth getting the flame suit on

haha Boa, are you trying to start a wild fire?? :lol:... A jungle is only a jungle when it's found in the Jungle..... But deep down, we all know their all the same thing, thats unless you breed and sell them ;). OK... if I was to buy a "Jungle ;)" I would expect a Black and Gold animal, with a top length of 4-5 feet, and an attitude worse than my wifes after I get home from a boys night at 6am... Flame On!