After any care info on Blonde Spotteds

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hindy

Reaction score
After any info on enclosure size when to up grade enclosure, food size when to up grade food size,heating, what to use for heating. Just anything really I am a complete novice have never kept a snake before only beardies.:)

Thanks anyone else with something more?

adult enclosure 900L x 500W x 500H,can move in around a yearling depending on how the snake settles in.

Different opinions. I got told that you need an enclosure half the length of the snake????

4 of my snakes are spotted pythons,2 blondes and 2 standards,the smallest mine are in as adults are 900L x 400W x 600H,but all opinons are different

My rule with spotteds is I feed 10 x pinkies then move on to the next size up (fuzzies) and so on. Always monitoring if it seems still to big for them etc.
I keep mine in click flacks up to 7-10 months or (1foot in size approx) which ever comes first, then move them to an enclosure size of 60x60x45 cm for the remainder of their life. Always letting them out for a roam on the grass weekly.

In my experience spotteds don't like sitting on direct heat, when given a choice they always sit in the next section. So for a click clack I'd place a heat mat under 1/4 of the container so they can pick and choose where they want to go.
In a 60 x 60 x 45cm enclosure I'd use heat mat under half in the night and basking or daylight lamp during the day. Never both simultaneously.
Keep the temp around 30c day and 23-24 night (summer months)
Then drop to 24c day and 15c night for winter hibernation.
Hope that helps

Matt

Thanks that does :) What size Click Clacks do you keep them in?

Last edited:
What size Click Clacks do you keep them in?