Bio-active Wood roach colony

Discussion in 'Herp Help' started by Venompost, Mar 1, 2018.

  1. Venompost

    Venompost New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any benefit to keeping your roach colony in a Bio-active setup with coir-peat and large wood logs, plants etc?

    Sent from my CPH1701 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Flaviemys purvisi

    Flaviemys purvisi Very Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QLD
    Not that I can see...
     
  3. saximus

    saximus Almost Legendary

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,760
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Windsor, NSW
    Yep definitely. You'll want to have something living in the substrate too though. I did it years ago with mealworms living in it. They form a sort of "symbiotic" relationship where the mealworm beetles cleaned up the carcasses of any dead roaches. It's been a long time now so I don't remember a lot of specifics but I never had to clean it and had to add less food than you normally would because everything was eating everything else
     
    Venompost and Foozil like this.
  4. Venompost

    Venompost New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes sounds good. Might give it a go.

    Sent from my CPH1701 using Tapatalk
     
  5. cris

    cris Almost Legendary

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    7,924
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You can also run a mini ecosytem in the reptile enclosure (indoor or outdoor). You can set it up so the roaches breed sustainably, eat the lizard (or whatever) crap and the other suff soil organisms, plants etc. mean that you don't need to do much cleaning.

    I have mini mealworms in some of my roach tubs, some people consisder them a pest.
     
    saximus and Foozil like this.

Share This Page