Blind Gecko

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sayrahsayrah

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hey there guys.

Newbie here. So I apologise if I ask a stupid question (or 10).

Just wanted to know what sort of tank setup would be needed for a blind (both eyes are no longer in "working order") Gecko, in regards to eating habits etc?

Any other suggestions in regards to care and so on would be highly appreciated!

This is all pretty new to me, and I don't want to make life any harder for him, so thanks in advance. :)

If you're a 'newbie' you should start with a healthy gecko.

Even experienced keepers would have a hard time getting a blind lizard to eat, I remember a thread on here earlier about a bearded dragon with no eyes.

Yeah, I know.

But it just came into my hands and well, I can't just throw him to the curb... :(

G'day Sayrah,

As geckos hunt using their highly sensitive eyesight, I'd say your blind gecko has a very limited lifespan unfortunately...

Yeah, I know.

But it just came into my hands and well, I can't just throw him to the curb... :(

http://www.aussiepythons.com/forum/herp-help-38/blind-beardie-124726 This might help you a bit, especially if it wont eat.

If you don't have an enclosure set up for him, search for a caresheet in Google, or search on here for gecko enclosures.

What type of gecko is it? Any photos?

A lot of geckos require special humidity and heating and the like, if you don't have an enclosure set up I'd get on that as quick as possible.

Thanks for your help guys. Will put a pic up in about 1/2 an hour.

We're pretty sure it's a Tree Dtella.

So any handy hints would be appreciated.

Picking up the enclosure soon and grabbing some munchies for him tomorrow morning.