COASTAL CARPETS AND CHANGES TO LICENCING RULES - ACT

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Meg

Not so new Member
Reaction score
:D

Hello all,

i am new to the reptile world and i would love some advice on the temperament of the coastal carpet pythons. i've heard that they are snappy as juveniles but settle down with proper handling, and then from other sources i've heard that they are not good pets as they are notoriously aggressive.

I would also like to know if anyone has done the reptile care course offered by the Zoo in conjunction with CIT?? I was speaking to shelley from the zoo and she was saying that apparently the "rule makers" have realised that it's perhaps a bit silly in some cases to make it compulsary to have owned a blue-tongue or bearded dragon or turtle ("category A") etc for 2 years before applying for the licence required to legally own a snake ("category B"), as many people would only obtain these category A animals as a stepping stone to their goal of a pet snake.

With this in mind the "rule makers" decided that provided the applicant could demonstrate the knowledge and experience required to own a "category B" animal, the licence would be considered regardless of whether a "category A" animal has been owned.

Shelley said that out of the people she has seen go through this short yet very comprehensive course, no-one as yet has had a problem obtaining the desired licence.

i'd appreciate any knowledge anyone can offer regarding this topic!!

thankyou!
Peace out

:p

Cant be NSW because you can own a snake on your first license.

Arh, just read your other post, you are in The ACT. I thought you didnt need a license for bluey's etc.

Category A