Cricket Breeding Setup

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sparky85

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Incubator.jpgiphone 230.jpgSo I thought id have a crack at breeding a nice colony of crickets for my GTFs. And yes i know roaches are much easier to breed, but i like a challenge.
Basically my set up consists of a couple clip lock storage boxes into which i wired a lamp for heat (I'm an electrician by the way). I cut a hole in the lids and glued on some fibreglass fly screen for ventilation. Then I have another piece of fly screen which over laps the box and is held down by the lid. This I have found helps to prevent escapes. Ive collected up a whole heap of toilet rolls and egg cartons for hides for the crix. I filled up a take away container with potting mix (organic, with no pesticides) which i keep moist and the crix use to lay their eggs in. Finally i took two large plastic lids for dry and fresh food, and a smaller lid onto which i place a soaked cotton bud for water. I went and got around 100 crickets and introduced them to their new home.
I have been feeding them apples and carrots so far, as well as gut load and crushed up dry dog or cat food (they seem to love the cat food). Any suggestions as to other veggies/fruit that are good for crix? or ones to steer clear of? Im trying to feed them with fresh food i can peel so that there are no pesticides. If i wash, say some buk choy for example, will this remove enough of the pesticides so as not to harm the crix? Or my animals for that matter? Ive been spot cleaning and refreshing food and water every day.