DIY Foam Wire Cutter + Project

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

zan777

Reaction score
Hey Guys,
I've seen lots of plans everywhere for DIY foam cutters and though i'd give it a crack at making my own from some relatively cheap parts. First of i must state that I am no electrician and can't verify how "SAFE" this device is, although as far as me testing it goes i haven't really found any problems.

Any parts i didnt have i bought from Jaycar Electronics (Jaycar Electronics - Better. More Technical.). I will post the price and product codes of the items i bought.

You will need:
  • Scrap wood (amount will depend on design)
  • Screws of various lengths (had these also)
  • Nichrome Wire (This wire heats up and can withstand high temps). I bought mine from jaycar its .32mm thick and comes in a 4m length [WW4040 $4.95]
    001.jpg
  • Hookup wire (I just grabbed 4m of the blue stuff at Jaycar at .70c a meter) [PS0528 $2.80]
    phonephotos075.jpg
  • Power Supply - I started off with an old adapter for a wireless router. it was rated 12v and 1 amp. it worked alright although i swapped to a Toshiba Laptop charger rated 15v and 5 amps and it cuts alot easier
  • (optional) DC line in adapter - if you want to still be able to use your DC adapter for whatever its original use was then buy one of these adapters. unfortunately the one i bought didn't find my adapter so i just wired up the adapter with some tape [PS0528 $3.45]
    phonephotos079.jpg

Here is my put together version:
phonephotos081.jpg

Now i didn't take photos as i went but i will try to explain.
steps:
  1. at the top of your 2 "arm" lengths of wood cut a slight groove for your nichrome wire to sit in