do monitors need uv lighting

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nocajudo

Reaction score
hey do monitors need artificial uva or uvb in indoor inclosures perticuarly storrs monitors
cheers ben

thnks for that ssssnakeman your more help in the threads then you are in chat lmao jokes lol, i heard that they didnt need it and as told with my ackies off , who i thought to be a respected breeder (wont say names) told me that they dont need it and he doesnt use it on his ackies up to his lacys and they all seemed fine any way more opinions people plz

I certainly use it on my monitors. The question of whether they need it or not is to look at what it is used for. I am not a scientist so maybe someone in that field can explain more but basically UV gives you vitamin D that helps in the absoption of calcium. You could assume that an animal that has evolved in a way that it spends a lot of it's time in the sun would use that vitamin D to aid in calcium absorption. An animal that has evolved to rarely be in sunlight you could assume would have developed other ways to absorb calcium. It's your call but I reckon that providing it when they don't need it will do no harm but the reverse may be different.

There was also a story recently on a TV show (and take that how you will) that said that we are seeing calcium deficiencies in kids now as we keep them out of the sun.

I never spoken to a vet that says they dont need it, nor have a spoken to a breeder who says they do need it :? it cant hurt them so why not.

I don't know if they need it.
I do know I only managed to get my ackies to breed when they had UV.

i have googled it a few times and some reports say there monitors have lived for 15 years without uv.
personally I use uv for all my reptiles from monitors pythons and dragons.