Help with first clutch

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

marksmates

Reaction score
Hi this is my first time at this and i hope im in the right place to ask for help. My beardies had there first clutch 2 weeks ago. Within 24 hrs they started to look sunken. I have them in an air tight container with vermiculite which i did 1;1 with water. The temp is around 30 and the humidity is around 98. I am slowly loosing them though. we started with 18 and 9 so far have changed colour and produced a smell so i have got rid of them. What am i doing wronge?

I was told it needed to be air tight for the humidity and to open it after 50 day to allow fresh air in then Is that not right?

i thought you were meant to open the lid every week to circulate air....could be wrong tho

have you candled them to see if they are fertile?
And as far as the airtight container to maintain humidity, Yet again another load of bulldust, There are many breeders that use ventilated egg containers with 100% success rates. We do and our incubator is also ventilated.

Thanks. I will take lid off a bit . Not sure what u mean by candled but i did cut open one egg that was off and it had yellow in it with two red dots i guessed that that ment they were fertile.

Candle them by shinning a torch thru the egss to see if u can see blood vessels etc

Healthy, fertile beardy eggs wont start dying within 24 hrs! My guess is that they prob werent fertile to begin with.
OR, theyve been rolled too long after laying. How long after she layed them to you get them out. The only other thing I think of is if she dropped them in the enclosure somewhere and they cooked from too much heat before taking them out. Did she lay them in a lay box?