Is My Dog Too Skinny?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
i thnk the dog looks in great condition, I always make my own food, and use euk food and use pet mince - I make my own food at work (I work as a butcher) and cook the food meat with veges and mix with the biscuits, I am sure not to give too much food (Shes a border cross- kelpie) so she gets about 200 grams of meat a day and a fresh marrow bone / or lamb shank in the morning! She is in perfect health despite shes about 13 years of age! (I make sure she has minced chicken frames (the fat is cook for promoting a healthy coat and the marrow ensures she has strong bones! at the age of 13 she still has good mobility, despite the certainty that she will ihave artharitis. Keeping them fit, and active helps keep arthiritis at bay!

Tar looks like a typical kelpie X. Fit, lean and ready for anything. What great dogs they are. And yours looks shiny & healthy. I feed chicken carcasses to my dogs. Aragorn [ Dane X Bull Mastiff ] gets 2 & Dana [ G. Shepherd ] gets 1. They also get ad lib dry food & the veg scraps that the kids don't eat, but they would not be any where near as active as Tar. If you are worried take him with you to the vet when you pick something else up. They will soon tell you if he is too thin & you can put him on the scales while you are there.

Thanks heaps for the advice guys. Of course I could just take him to the vet but I wanted to get peoples opinons first. The reason Im unsure is Ive grown up with little ankle biters... Not a dog of this size. So just asking for others experience.

I will look at changing the food... I dont mind paying a bit more.

I give him bones regulary (3-4 a week) and also boil any bbq chickens we have for chicken broth ice cubes for when its hot.

Here is a vid of him playing...