New water dragon setup

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pmitchy

Reaction score
I am in the process of setting up a new water dragon enclosure. I am new to reptile pets so any feedback is welcome.

I am building a custom enclosure measuring approx 1500w, 500d, and 1000h

The tank is currently designed to have approx 200mm deep of water through 2/3 of the tank with a basking area in the remaining 3rd of the tank covered in a sand substrate approx 50mm deep. I have a 1500l/h cannister filter connected to a undergravel pickup, 18W UV steralizer and external inline water heater.

Lighting will be covered by 2 x 2ft 18W T8 Reptile Fluorescent globes and the possible addition of a Mercury Vapour Lamp (open to discussion). I have also purchased 3 x 100W Ceramic IR heat emitters (these were purchased before reading about the benefits of including a mercury vapour lamp in a high tank, so if I use a MVL i will only use 2 of the IR heaters).

I am planning on purchasing and retrofitting a digital aquatices controller to control the light and heat sources as I have a dimmable ballast for the flourescent light fittings, but this is on the wishlist. In the mean time I will just use standard thermostats and timers. Natural sun/moon cycle dimming and heating seems to be cool, but not that easy to setup.

I am planning on the enclosure housing 2 water dragons and 1 - 2 long neck turtles. I am also toying with the idea of a couple of green tree frogs, but am unsure of their compatibility with the water dragons. All are proposed to be introduced as hatchlings.

I would like to include native live plants, but am unsure what plants will be suitable. I would like to keep the environment as natural as possible.

I would love to get some feedback from some waterdragon / reptile lovers.

Thanks
Paul.