Rat Husbandry questions.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

-Katana-

Reaction score
I've had a doe give birth to her first litter and I kept the buck in with her because I read that the doe's come straight back into season.

How likely is it that she'd fall pregnant again straight away?

She's very protective of her pups and has bitten me twice and has bitten the buck ..he has bleeding ears.
I don't see this as a bad thing as I see this as a sign of a strong mothering instinct.

Any advice or tips welcomed.

Thanks,
~Akwendi.

I'm no expert either, personally I remove the male prior to the female giving birth. But I have a few females for him to service. After a few days I then take her out and put her in with the male for a couple of hours, and repeat this process over a period of about a week.The mother rats always get bitey when they have young. Although many will say it doesn't happen, I have always worried that the male may kill the pups

Thanks Garthy.
I've watched this buck and he tries to curl up in the nest on top of the litter.
I don't know if he's trying to help keep the litter warm or if he's trying to get warm but he isn't a little boy.
Hope he doesn't squash the pups.

Might have to do what you do and take "porky" out.

I keep the male in with 2 or 3 females, never separate them and i dont have any problems.
Apparently they can fall pregnant as soon as they drop there litter.
If you have more then one female in a cage then you do not want the age of the litters to far apart.
Eg if one litter is furred and crawling around and another is pinkys then they usually get mixed around and the younger ones starve to death etc due to not being able to compete with the older babies...my experiences anyway.