Vitticeps & Barbarta

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Flaviruthless

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie and just had one question: I've looked around and it seems every time someone mentions breeding eastern and inland beardies together there's a lot of backlash. Why is this so? Why does it appear to be so taboo to breed them together? Thanks :)

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and just had one question: I've looked around and it seems every time someone mentions breeding eastern and inland beardies together there's a lot of backlash. Why is this so? Why does it appear to be so taboo to breed them together? Thanks :)

Did you know thats its illegal to cross-breed 2 different Reptile's together here in Australia.

The Pogona Barbata & Pogona Vitticeps are both 2 different species of Bearded Dragon not Sub-Species.

We don't want to end up with Bearded Dragon's that a half Vitticep & Barbata, we want to keep them pure and help protect each Species for future generations to see.

l read in your profile that you have 1 Pogona Vitticep and 1 Pogona Barbata, if l was you l would just keep 1 pair of what you have and depart with the other one, we don't want to see Reptile keepers like you cross-breeding these 2 different species of Bearded Dragon, and end up with Vitticep x Barbata, you could end up loosing your licence or get fined for cross-breeding these 2 Bearded Dragon's

lf l was you l would contact your local wildlife authority and ask them if its true that you cannot cross-breed 2 different Reptile's together and see what they have to say.

Last edited:
Did you know thats its illegal to cross-breed 2 different Reptile's together here in Australia.