Where are the frogs :(

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Benan

Reaction score
Hi, im just wonderning what has happend to the frogs i used to have heaps croaking around my our fence poles and stuff no i done hear them at all!

are frogs becoming an endangerd species or something? (Sorry if that was a stupid question)

Well obviosly lots of frogs are threatened and dissapearing from alot of areas.
Im no expert on the issue but i suspect polution and other environmental factor such as competeion and habitat destruction would play a major role.

Add to this that it is virtually illegal to restore the dissapearing frogs to your area these days.

It is possible to encourage frogs to your garden by giving them a pond and plants etc. but IMO this often leads to favoring certain species(the ones that are already common and abundant) and if you cant bring in more local frogs you get stuck with heaps of a limited number of species(well thats what has happened near me anyway).

The government obviously could give a toss because they arnt koalas so basically alot of frogs are stuffed IMO.

The idiots i live next door to have this bush and LOTS of frogs live in it, but they use to capture frogs and throw them now they are gone

I wanted to ring cops on my neighbours but mum was friends with them.. would they have left because they were throwing the other frogs?

Add to this that it is virtually illegal to restore the dissapearing frogs to your area these days.

It is possible to encourage frogs to your garden by giving them a pond and plants etc. but IMO this often leads to favoring certain species(the ones that are already common and abundant) and if you cant bring in more local frogs you get stuck with heaps of a limited number of species(well thats what has happened near me anyway).