Feeding tips for hatchling

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tracym666

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi All

Just have another question about getting a fussy eater to start eating for me, just a little worried (maybe too worried) but I am use to having a children's python that loves food and this new one is not interested so it's making me worry a bit.

I have tried the following:

1. Moving the pinkie with feeding tongs
2. Dragging the mouse around in front of her/him
3. Putting the pinky in warm water to heat it up a little

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Also, how long (born March 2006) can they go without food before I get really worried, I couldn't tell if it was getting to thin or not as I am not experienced in any way to figure that out.

Please help
Thanks
Tracy

Where are you located? How is the enclosure setup? Do you have any pics of the snake? Has it ever eaten?

The enclosure has a day time temperature of approx 28 to 32 depending in which hiding place it goes to (has 2 hiding places) and night temperature of about 24 to 26.

Re: RE: Feeding tips for hatchling

MrBredli said:
Where are you located? How is the enclosure setup? Do you have any pics of the snake? Has it ever eaten?

Haven't got a pic but I can get one if it helps, I am located on the southside of Brisbane, I have only seen it eat once and that was a live pinkie (not by me but by the person it got the snake from), it took about one hour of patience even then to get it to it.

RE: Re: RE: Feeding tips for hatchling

Have you tried live pinkies? Also try braining a dead pinky - pierce a small hole in the pinkies head and allow fluid from the brain to drip out onto the pinky, sounds gross but it works. Also try scenting the mouse with a lizard.