Changing adult snake from tub to enclosure feeding.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delilah

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I’m brand new to snake keeping and I’ve had my four year old Murray Darling python for all of five days!

She has always been fed in a separate crate and I would like to change to enclosure feeding. She is around two metres long and weighed 3.4kg at her last weight check. She has only just switched (at the last feed) to four-weekly and an XL jumbo rat, which I’m told she managed fine. She is due for a feed and my feeling is that I should stick with the crate for her first feed with me, just to make sure she is eating ok. At the same time, I am mindful of not stressing her by putting her in the crate (even though this is what she is used to) during her settling in period.

She has spent most of the past five days in her hide, with her head and up to 40cm of her body out through the day. I can see evidence of a bit more exploration at night.

I’m concerned that if I feed in the enclosure this time, she will take the rat into her hide and I will have to disturb her to check on her feeding. Also, I haven’t been opening and closing her enclosure much at all, due to trying to leave her alone to settle in. Am I better off getting her used to my comings and goings in the enclosure before introducing her to her first ever enclosure feed?

Advice from experienced folk would be greatly appreciated.

shes more likely to feed in her enclosure
very rarely will they strike, coil and then not eat the food, if they did I would break it down to inadequate housing or thawing technique (Dont be fancy, Just use a bucket of HOT tap water NOT boiling)

Last edited:
shes more likely to feed in her enclosure