Field Study - Boyd’s Forest Dragon

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SofieB

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I’m doing my PhD on Boyd’s Forest Dragon (Hypsilurus boydii) and I’m about to start my field work. I would like to know where people have found or caught Boyd’s Dragons in the Wet Tropics and how many individuals you saw at each of these places (at any one time). I would like to have sites from North to South and I would like to sample at least 10 dragons from each site. Thanks, any help would be most appreciated.

Sofie, could you tell us what kind of research you're doing? Does it involve any experimental stuff?

There are plenty of places you can observe them
But exactly what so you mean by 'sample' them??

But I am curious about the sampling too - do you mean toe clipping or other means of marking them for identification?

Jamie

Oh good grief... get a life you guys - unbeknownst to you there are lots of people doing legit work with reptiles in this country... not everyone thinks like you.

Jamie

Last edited by a moderator:
At this point I will be collecting DNA samples either by buccal or blood samples (2 drops of blood by nail clipping - not toe clipping) and conducting spool-and-line tracking (I have ethics approval). The dragons will not leave the forest. No behavioural or chemical experiments.

Last edited:
Or perhaps a genetic study with a small tissue sample or something similar, I'm very interested to know the subject of the study, PhD studies are always good topics :)

Sounds interesting - and a beautiful looking species to work with too!

Jamie

At this point I will be collecting DNA samples and conducting spool-and-line tracking (I have ethics approval). The dragons will not leave the forest. No behavioural or chemical experiments.