Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cuddly_pony

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all
I recently posted a thread about keeping snakes and having cats and the overall majority was that I could!!
So now to decide which snake!!!
I am a beginner at this and have never owned a snake I am 14yo and am very responsible having a Horse two cats and two budgies all welll looked after
I dont much care what it looks like I just love snakes as they are such fascinating creatures!!! I just want something that has a great temperment and wont grow two big (big being over a meter) and a snake that can cope being handled at least once a day eventually
So whats your ideas also can you post it like this?
Snake:
Size:
Temperment:
Enclosure:
Other notes like lifespan ect:
:):)

I believe the only pythons you will find that stay that small are Antaresia. The 3 most common are Spotted, Childrens and Stimpsons Pythons.
Size: 3-4 foot on average
Temperment: Varies
Enclosure: 2 or 3 foot once an adult.

When i thought about getting my first i just googled things until my fingers hurt. Have a look into spotted, childrens, or stimsons.
About 1 to 1.5 m.
Usually a good temperament
Enclosure to begin would be a plastic enclosure (click clack)

yeah any three of your antaresia family. i personally love the look of spotteds or stimsons as they hold their patterns well and stimsons are apparently known to be pretty friendly snakes (though i don't own one as of yet)
but my two spotteds are really great snakes and don't bite ever.
and when full grown your enclosure will just need to be about two foot long, two foot high and 45cm deep? something along those lines. not overly huge