Baby Coastal Carpets won't feed

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

hazy7

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this reptile-keeping caper - my girlfriend has just headed overseas and left me in charge! Anyway, I am now the proud owner of 5 Coastal Carpets. The first hatched on 26 Dec and the last 7 Jan.

I'm keeping them in tupperware-style containers about 15X10X8cm, with newspaper on the bottom, drink-bottle lids for water dishes and cardboard hides. As far as I can tell this should be ok for them. The containers are in an enclosure with a UV tube and heat lamp, running around 30 degrees under the lamp. Humidity is ~60%.

Firstly, are these conditions right for hatchlings? Secondly - how do I get them to feed? I understand that it can take a few weeks so I'm not too worried about the youngest ones. But I'm guessing the oldest should start feeding soon. I've tried dangling small defrosted, warmed pinkies in front of them at night-time but they haven't shown much interest. I've also left them in overnight but still no joy. :?

Three of them have also shed recently which I'm guessing is a good sign.

Does anyone have any hints? As I said I'm new to this and any help would be appreciated. I'll feel a lot better when they start feeding!

Thanks, Chris.

wait till they have shed before you try to feed then try every 3rd night untill they feed

try popping the guts out of the pinky and that usally will give off a good scent for your little snakey to go for.

but make sure you wait till they have shed

Good hints guys...thanks! Do the living conditions sound about right?

ditch the uv tube but apart from that everything sounds fine

Firstly, when they hatch they have a belly full of yolk, so it will be a while until they are hungry enough to start thinking about food.