Beginner and new to Australia - couple of questions

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FrostFG

Reaction score
Hey everybody!
I moved to Australia(Townsville) a couple of months ago and after I visited Billabong Sanctuary I decided I realy want a snake. Since I am new to this country it is kind of difficult to figure out how everything works and and I might ask some stupid questions. So please be patient (and also with my english :) )
What I am looking for is a snake that just catches my eye, that grows to at least 1,5 - 2m, still juvenile and affordable for a student. I kind of felt in love with Aspidites melanocephalus, but I seems it is rare.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aspidites_melanocephalus A snake of the Morelia complex is probably a good start - later on maybe even a Morelia viridis.
1) I need some kind of permit to have snakes as a pet. I know I can do it online and I will do it this weekend or next week.
2) Where do you guys order your enclosures? Depending on the size I am starting with a plastic box (for really young snakes) or a medium size timber/glassfront enclosure.
I found that: [DELETED] Is something like that a reasonable price in Australia? Back home they sell that stuff on ebay for almost nothing - maybe I just haven't found the right page?
3) The most important thing: the snake. Where to you actually get your snakes? The local PetHQ just sells 2 different overpriced minisnakes. Any comment about the type of snake?

Please post anything that could be helpful for me, but please keep this thread clean so I can use it for further questions.

Best regards

Last edited by a moderator:
for snakes check the fors ale thread plenty of private breeders with good prices better than most pet shops