Blue Tongue in hiding - help!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

chrysophylax

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have only gotten a blue tongue a few days ago but the day before yesterday he discovered he could dig and hide under the reptie bark. And since then thats all he's been doing. He completely burys himself so if you look at the tank it looks empty.
It's very cold down the bottom (unfortunaltly there is a little bit of water that has leaked) and I'm wondering why he's doing this? It's only about 20 degrees (C) in the tank and the heat lamp isn't as warm as I expected it to be (but then again I've never done this before).
He hides under bark in the middle of the tank and his house is in the warmer side (with bark at the bottom) but it's probably about the same temp in his house as the cooler side I think.
When I take him out of the tank and pop him on the floor he usually makes his way towards the heater.
Am I doing something wrong or is he just shying away? Has anyone elses skink done this? Shouldn't he be basking in the heat lamp?
I don't understand him :'(

Hey Blue Tongue Skinks do like to dig. He will dig under any loose substrate, so i dont think that it is any thing to worry about. He will try to get deep down to cover himself. If you are worried that he is not getting enough heat then perhaps you should change the substrate to something a little more study!
Hope that helps

Dont be too concerned about it. We have a blotched blue tongue here that we have to dig out every morning so people can see him.

Nothing really to be too worried about. Just make sure there is a basking spot and it will be fine

Dustin