Blue Tongue Lizard - Townsville QLD

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Micmac

Reaction score
I am new to all of this and I am trying to find someone else in Towsville with Blue Tongue Lizards. I have 2 and am sure they are a male and a female but are siblings. They are 8 years old and I am not sure if they are too old to breed or are allowed to breed together as they are siblings. Is there anyone in Townsville who also has some ? I have young family members (Grandson) that now want one (the 2 I have belong to my teenager) and I am not sure where to get any more from. We have had ours since hattchling. Or should change my licence and learn how to breed some myself.
Thanks for any advice.

Welcome to the forum Micmac. By chance, can you share a pic of your lizards?

Guys more knowledgeable will be along soon to answer your questions.

As they were siblings, I had them in tha same large enclosure for the first 12 months. Then I came home from work one afternoon to find one with bites and scratches. I assumed from there that they were different sexes and they have been separated them ever since. The ? Female is much bigger than the ? Male. The photo is what I think is the male. He is a lot more active and social than her.

Attachments

• 20221105_085139.jpg
    20221105_085139.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 0
@Micmac,
It does not matter that they are siblings if you wish to breed them. This, and similar inbreeding of closely related individuals, is how a lot of new morphs are often produced. Bluetongues can live for 20 or more years in captivity and continue to breed throughout their adult lives.