Cichlids! I hardly knew yee!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Naxx

Reaction score
Any one here keep fish? I Had a 3.5 foot tank approx 85 litres with a healthy group of 3 Blue dolphins, 3 Red amps, and 5 electric yellow cichlids. In the course of 3 weeks im down to 3 electrics. Something has been killing off the fish one by one, they start swimming funny and not eating and then they die in the course of about 2 days. Only one dies at a time and ive been treating for fungis and parasites just incase. Ive done water changes appropriately and they are still dieing off thus far.

Anyone got any ideas????? Ive been keeping fish for a few years and learned from my dad and ive never seen anything like this.

Also in the last stages before they die Ich starts to apear, but its too late to be the cause of death and I believe is just a side effect due to the stress of watever is kiling them.

have u ruled out the electric yellows as murder suspects?

what is the temp?

how hard is your water?

Fish die from water conditions or other fish...usually water conditions.

Are they burning? ie is there a film on them or white stuff?

If yes then you have pH or ammonia problems. pH should be over 8.0 for Africans and ammonia at zero.

What size water changes and how frequent?

You need to check your pH, ammonia/nitrite/nitrate levels and probably your general and carbonate hardness levels first to exclude a water problem. If your pH bounces due to inadequate buffering (low carbonate hardness) that can cause significant stress.

What are you using to treat the possible fungal/bacterial causes?