Is it really safe and recommended to stop feeding snakes during winter?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Starter

Not so new Member
Reaction score
As my name says I am a real newbie in snake keeping - and I have never had an animal which could stay without food for a few months. So excuse me if I just can't believe it 100 %. If an animal (like any reptile or a bear or a hedgehog etc.) indeed falls into "winter sleep" (or hibernation or brumation), and they really don't come out of their cave and just sleep all the time, I can imagine that they could survive on their fat reserves. However, firstly my 6-8 year ols pythons don't look fat at all, and secondly they still move around at least for a while every day, although I have cooled them down. I turn their heaters on only to maintain a temperature in their enclosures between 15 and 20 °C, but they still sneak straight under their heat lamps when they turn on, and bask. When I take them out of their enclosures they become really active. Am I doing something wrong?

I have stopped feeding them two weeks ago and worry that they may be starving. The last I want is to cause them any harm or suffering. Please advise!

Do your pythons a huge favour and turn the heat up before you do damage! The Brumation process is vastly different to the hibernation process! Reptile in Australia brumate which means they are not in a state of torper or complete sleep. They use daytime heat to come up from hiding and to rewarm their bodies before retreating back to their hide for another cool night. You would do your snakes a huge favour to keep their temps up this winter and to learn about the process correctly as what you have written above shows complete lack of understanding of what your trying to do and could end up killing your snakes!

Last edited: