Just lost my reptile virginity !

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kybaryal

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am brand new at this so bear with me please. I have just bought my very 1st reptile ever.. Have wanted one for years and my husband finally caved. :D Just a few questions. She is a 18month old female stimsons python, I have her tank all set up properly. warm side with a heat mat sitting at around 30-34 degrees. She always seems to be in the hide on the cool side of the tank, is this normal ?? I guess she will know when she gets too cold, but when I pick her up she feels like an ice block. Another question, the feed sheet I got with her says she has been eating mice/rats about 10gms in weight, from what Ive been readingshe should be eating at least an adult mouse, Is that right or am I completly off base here ??? Also the guy i bought her off got her on the 1 June and there is no mention of her shedding whist he had her. Is that normal and if so how long between sheds ? I know these may be really stupid questions with no right answer but I just thought Id ask. She did eat a 5gm fuzzie mouse ( looked more like a pinkie to me, no fur and eyes closed and about half the size of my little finger) last monday, but she just lazily come over and gently took it, no striking and no constricting which was 2 days after I got her and 23 days after her last feed. Any opinions on all this would be a great.. Thanks

dont know much about ants but id think that it could take more than a 10g rat or mouse , how big is it , someone will come along that knows ants and will be able to say for certain but id think it could take bigger