Late-blooming reptile lover says hello

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CallMeHenry

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm an absolute newbie just back from holiday in Malaysia/Borneo, where I had some great encounters with reptiles, finally convincing me that I must do something about this unrequited 40-year fascination with these wonderful, misunderstood critters. But I know bugger all and need patient teachers! Where do I start (I live in a flat, which I suspect makes things tricky)? Where do I learn? Hope that one day I can offer more than just enthusiasm. Look forward to getting to know you along the way. John.

You have come to the right place! ive only been here 2 weeks, (had my snake the same amount of time). There are loads of really helpful peeps. Where to start though? Well, what city are you in? What do you like? Snakes? Lizards? Frogs? Geckos? Big ones? Little ones? LOL
Living in an apartment shouldnt hinder your fetish.... they dont need to take up too much room if you go about it the right way.... :)

Hi, You came to the right place. I've also only been here a short time, but everyone is so helpful and answer any question you have.
Living in a flat shouldn't hinder your quest, they don't take up a lot of room, are easy to keep clean and quiet. The perfect pet lol.
BTW, hello and welcome :)

Wow, that was quick, Rox! Great to hear from you. I live in inner Sydney - a bit like Richmond down your way, I guess. I really like all types of reptiles and amphibians but maybe small(ish) lizards might be best to start with. I'm a big fan of blue tongues - like a lot of Sydney families there was always a "Lizzie" in the backyard. I've also spent time in the tropics so I also like geckos and green tree frogs - great to watch destroying the insect population!