Mountain dragon (Rankinia diemensis)

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tas_devil

Reaction score
Hi all!, i am a newbie to this site and pretty much to the game of caring looking after a little lizzard, after looking through the site i thought i would ask a few questions..​

i have just collected my self a beautiful baby mountain dragon from the east coast of tasmania, have brought myself a nice little tank and heat matt, the pet store was out of lights but the guy said it would be too bad for a little cause of the weather were having down here :D

so when should i start feeding my little guy?? i have brought crickets and mealworms(think they are a little too big..) and how should i go about all of it???

it would be great if some help could be thrown my way,

thanks again

jim

also should i leave the heat mat on all the time or only thru the day?

Last edited:
Keep the food item as small as possible ( about the width of the dragons head) forget the mealworms, no good for a few reasons, small woody roaches are best, or crickets. temps for mountains 15 - 25, they are great little dragons, probably my favorite agamid to keep.

awesome! thanks for the advice! would what you say is the best way of getting food to them?? should i just drop it in the tank and let let him do his own thing or should i use tweezers and try and offer it to him?
i know snakes can only eat every few days but are lizzards the same??

cheers again

jim

Lizards will eat every day whilst the weather is good and temps suitable. Just drop the food in front of him and let him hunt it down, don't have too many places where insects can hide, esp crickets as they will attack and eat sleeping dragons.