My First Gecko And Reptile

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GeckoMan2359

Reaction score
Hi,
I really want a gecko, im a beginner and thinking of getting a thick tailed gecko
Can you guys give me some info
How big should my tank be to house 1 and what should I have in it example; heater, hide
where can I buy them and how much will I be spending for every thing I need including reptile licence which here in sydney is about $60 a year
Thanks
GeckoMan2359

Thicktails are good, tank should be about 2ft, hides are necessary to make them feel secure. Thicktails overheat easily so heating should only be used if it gets really cold for prolonged periods of time.
The Green Scorpion - this place sells them and theyre near sydney.

Thicktails are an easy gecko to look after and in some cases depending where you live you won't need to provide heat for them. a 2 ft tank would do a single gecko. For sale section has them advertised now and again. I house mine in a underbed storage container from Reject shop $10. from memory I think they are 50x33cm. The gecko cost around 60 and up to around 100. Where do you live? If you get it from another state you will need to add import licence fees of 30 bucks I think. You don't need lights or uv.

P.S. Keeping Australian Geckos by Rob Porter is a great book for the newbie gecko owner around 20 bucks.

Last edited:
thanks Smithers,
I live in Sydney
can you tell me how you set up your enclosure