Need help!!!

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

newbie2012

Not so new Member
Reaction score
hey guys
im new to the reptile thing right
and yesterday i got my first bearded dragon:D
but i have found that he doesnt want to eat the small crickets or veges:(
so is tis suppose to happen or is he suppose to be eating
oh and his a hatching like 10cm head to tail
any advice would be good
thx

young beardeds eat mostly small insects, they tend to eat more veggies as they get older
but you gotta sort of wean them onto em.
plus the move would have been stressful so he might not eat for the first day or two untill he settles in, mine didnt take to veggies straight away then i got some advice from another keeper who said to pick some clover and twirl it in between your fingers, the movement tweaks their intrest and they may eat it then once they know what it is and go for it with out the twirling you can putt a bunch of it in a small bowl and they'll eat it out of there and once they learn whats in the bowl is food you can add more veggies.

hope this helps :D

Congrats on your first beardie!
They do/can get stressed & go off their food, but hopefully a little one like that will start eating again in the next day or 2.
What temps have u got at your basking spot & cool area? This can make a huge difference to whether they eat or not.
With vegies, I find bok choy is always a winner, & usually the finely chopped carrot, but there's heaps of greens you can try. Also apple finely chopped.