Heating taller enclosure. Advice needed.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tobe404

AussiePythons Supporter
Supporting Member
Reaction score
So I currently have a 10-11 month old Frill Neck in a 45Hx60Dx90W enclosure with a 75watt Philips Flood and a 10.0 26w 150 CFL UVB.

I know that is not ideal but he does eat every day (Had him since the 4th of June). Poos and sheds fine from what I can see. Has settled in very nicely.
I alternate between Crickets and Woodies. As well as Vitamin and Calcium with D3 supplements. Superworms once a week. Mouse once a month.

Built a 120Hx60Wx60D enclosure for him (was hard to find ready-made taller enclosures.)
Although I am struggling to get the temperatures right. This is my first time dealing with a tallish enclosure.

I guess I'm just after advice on what types and / or wattage lights would put out enough heat for the new enclosure.
(I don't want to put him in there until the temperatures are right.) I tried an 80 Watt MVB but that just doesn't put out enough heat on it's own.

Oh another thing I was curious about. Which would be better for maintaining overall enclosure temperatures out of a CHE vs a Radiant Heat Globe?
Is there any difference between the Oz White CHEs and the usual Black ones?

Without any lighting or heating the taller enclosure is about 15-16c overall.

Starting to realise I'll probably need one or two more fixtures as well.

First picture is of the enclosure he will be going into. Second and third pictures are of him in his current enclosure.

Appreciate the input.

PS: On a side note. Is anyone else finding it increasingly more difficult to find 75-100 (or higher) Watt Flood Lights?

Attachments

• 20230706_154018.jpg
    20230706_154018.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_6642(1).jpg
    IMG_6642(1).jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230604_160459.jpg