Newbie questions about owning a snake in Cairns

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SCPPWP

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I've wanted a snake since I was a kid and, now that I'm living away from home, this year I finally got my wish! Woohoo!

My sister works at a vet in Adelaide and one of her workmates is going to talk to me about owning snakes and teach me how to build an enclosure with a TV cabinet.

What I need is some help with is whicht species I should go for, and how to manage the enclosure, in a warm and humid climate like Cairns. I'm a full time uni student, so I can't afford air-conditioning. My house is reasonably cool (for Cairns), but will a fan suffice for hotter days? How can I deal with high humidity? I've seen some posts claiming that Cairns is warm enough to forego a heating mat/rock/lamp. Someone else in a similar situation in another thread was advised to look at a hardier species like a darwin carpet python. This is my biggest issue, so I'd really appreciate any relevant help pertaining to coping with this climate without access to an aircon.

Elsewise, I don't mind bitey-ness, and I'd love a snake which is tolerant of being handled. I've been keeping an eye on other species advice threads and I really love the looks of the stimsonis and the jungles, even if the latter are a bit feisty. Also, if anyone knows of some reputable dealers in the Cairns I'd be very grateful if you could hook me up.

Oh and for further reading it seems to me that Keeping and Breeding Australian Pythons is pretty highly recommended. Yay, nay?

Heaps of thanks in advance for any help you can give me, guys. Sorry for the wall of text.