Newly acquired snake

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pthechemist

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi guys and gals,

I am a teacher in NSW and we have just got a snake in the Science dept. I am the main carer of the Children's Python and we obviously follow all the rules and regs required. However, I have a few questions...

We got the snake from a pupil who has lost interest (I used to have geckos in the UK before emigrating so wanted to rehome if at all poss), the snake is 1.3 m in length and weighs coincidentally 1.3 kg (according to our Newton meter)
He/she is a very happy snake and loves to be handled by myself as he/she will generally come up to the door when i approach. The previous owners supplied all the terrerium equip but as the temps here are higher than the uk I am a little in the dark. We have tried to get the temp in the tank up BUT there is no heat light, I believe we should get one is that correct?

The tank is 1.4m long by 40cm wide and 50cm high. we have a heat mat at one end with a light which as i said were supplied but I worry about the temps. (we have the temps MUCH higher than the previous owner and Squiggles (!) is pretty active but what do you think?

As regards feeding... This is VERY hit and miss (temp issue again I believe)

Many thanks for you time and any advice.

Phil

If there is a good gradient in the tank temps upto 32-34 should be fine down the "hot" end. Each to their own. As long as it doesn't cook anything in the hot end and the snake slithers onto the burning rock!
Also ensure that there is a hideout at both ends, so it has options.