Plants in enclosure

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Stormangel

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

sorry to ask questions, but I've done a search on the forum and am not coming up with any reference to what plants would be good in a tank...

This is my first set up so I'm a nOob :)

I will be getting a python soon, so I was wondering what plants you guys put in ya tank? I'm thinking of putting in ferns for 2 reasons:

1/ hidey space
2/ aesthetics

any suggestions are welcome :)

Plastic plants can look alright if you get good ones. I don't use any plants plastic or otherwise. four of my five spend most of their time under newspaper. I do use wood branches and the exo terra hides spots.

Though take note that my enclosures are to contain my animals not to be furniture. A good enclosure looks lovely but I am lazy :wink: .

As Munkee suggested, plastic plants are probably the way to go. Live plants can be easily damaged, have to remain in pots which means they need regular watering, especially something like a fern which benefits from high humidity (not necessarily the best for a python). And they also need full spectrum lighting that includes UVA & UVB - something not usually required for a python. If you use a heat source (like a lamp or ceramic) it will dry out the plant and you will need to water the plant much more frequently. A tatty plant can actually make an enclosure look bad and unkept.

From a management/health point of view for the animal, a plant (and the soil in the pot) can also be hiding places for mites and other parasites or pathogens.

:p

Hix

Also A Live Plant generally needs Fertilising occasionally..Which of course would be bad for a snake...