SLR Cameras....... which to choose?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay84

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
So, i am looking for an SLR camera. I am unsure as to which make/model as i am a newbie when it comes to photography. I have always had an interest but have made do with my point and shoot as funds have not permitted me to an upgrade. Now i have just paid off my debts i am looking for a camera but with all these models etc i am totally confused.

I am after a camera that i can grow into, not a total amateur camera where i will want to upgrade in a year or so when my skills develop, but a camera that will last me some time without the need to upgrade.

I have looked at the Canon 550D and the Nikon D90.

What do the experienced photographers on here think? What would you suggest?

Also lenses, i would want the camera for macro shots of my animals, as well as travelling photos of scenery and zooming for photos of animals etc.

Many thanks!

I'm not an expert but am using a dslr cannon 1000D it was good to start out with but I'm looking at getting the 550D as it apparently picks up alot more colours so I would say that would be the way to go...

Nikon d90 has served me well... it is backup to my d300.

I would first ask why you want an slr over a good point and shoot? Many amateurs splash out on an slr, and then never learn how to use them properly. Why waste your money?

What is your interest in photography? What do you want to take photos of - mostly wildlife and the pets? What do you think that buying an slr will achieve that a point and shoot can't? They are important questions to ask before choosing any new camera equipment.

I have a pretty decent point and shoot - Canon IXUS 860IS i think it is. I get very frustrated with it when it comes