Snake Breeding Season

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fantazmic

Very Well-Known Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I need some help

I have a Jungle Carpet Python who is about 20 months old. I didnt cool him this season because I have no plans to breed (havent done enough homework) and I am a newbie so this snake keeping thing is all new to me. Anyway early August he went off his food. I didnt think much of it because he has always been a fussy eater. So he hasnt eaten for about 3 and a half/ four weeks....yes I know I know that is nothing for a snake.

Heres the thing...he is sooooo restless. He is pacing his enclosure and wants to get out. He puts his head on the door hangs himself in all sorts of wierd positions in the enclosure and is totally stressed out. The enclosure is big 1200 high 900 wide and 600 deep and he has a big lasagne dish of water in the bottom of his enclosure if he wants a bath and lots of spots to sit and bask on and a shelf with a reptiradiator he can sit on and snooze. I provide a nice cottom hand towel for him to sit on and he loves to get inside it if he is feeling he really wants to sleep and have a rest.

I tried last night with a fuzzy mouse because if I give him anything small rat or mouse he loves it and it often gets him feeding again....he doesnt want it and he doesnt care.
Ive upped his heat....made no difference.

He looks really good in himself...he isnt 'fat' but certainly isnt skinny and maybe looks a bit dull like he might be heading towards a shed and when he sheds its all uncomplicated and usually comes off in one piece. So I know it isnt health related...he looks too good and is too alert and active to be sick. Also he isnt aggressive at all, but that is normal for him...he is flat out striking his food at the best of times