So afterall they do have feelings..... not to mention strange behaviour

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

anna.jc

Not so new Member
Reaction score
I am just a recent beginner to the herp world but I just had a memory pop into my head with my very first diamond that I wanted to share it was a male yearling (escaped - my fault :cry: ). His name was Thor and he had been hiding for a long period of time in his favoured small teracotta pot on the warm side of the terrarium, opposed to the large log on the cool side.

I slid off the lock which makes a loud enough noise to disturb a sloth but I paused for a second looking at whatever I was looking at and through my proriferal vision I did not realise this at first but he shot right out of the little opening from the terracotta pot and striked, only he hit the glass close to where my hand was positioned :shock:. I did not realise what he had just done, then I put two and two together the noise of the hit on the glass and that he was actually looking pretty agitated. So I said 'OK, Ok I get it, your clearly not in the mood so ahh.... I'm just going to go ahead and put that lock right back on and pretend this never happend'.... *back away slowly*. The part I found so odd is that he retreated back into the terracotta pot but he left his little head poking out the opening in view as if he was watching me with eyes that stabbed like a frieking knife my god!

This was the first attempt throughout the 3 short but best months I had him that he ever came close to striking at me and later that week he did shed although there were absolutely no signs other than the constant hiding but it explained his reactions.