Spider ID please

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Could be a male of one of the funnel-web types. Apparantly the venom from the male northern tree funnel webs is 5 times more toxic than the sydney version.

:lol: My God! I don't know!! :lol: :lol: That's why I asked you people!! :D :p

I'll send a pic into the Museum and see if they can get a positive ID on it :p I'm still fairly convinced it's a Southern Funnel Web. Particularly with the red under it's fangs (but hey, I'm not good with spider ID's). Undoubtably it's still in the same place I found it. I check in on him next time I'm out there :lol: :lol:

Just to throw in my 2 cents.

I think it isnt a funnel web and also think it seems like a male trap door spider.
Funnel webs seem to have a larger set of mouthy parts (wider).

SO I will lock in B : Trap door.....?

For those of you who locked in trapdoor, give yourselves a big pat on the back :D

I just recieved this letter from the kind gentleman from the Melb Museum:

Dear Luke,

Thank you for sending your very good spider images into Discovery Centre at Melbourne Museum for identification.

Your spider looks to be one of the trapdoors and is most likely a species from the genus Stanwellia. Although they are called trapdoors, not all the species of trapdoor actually have the lid on the burrow. The good news with these spiders is that while the fangs of this spider can inflict a deep and painful bite, the venom is not known to cause serious medical problems. The habits of these spiders mean that you should also rarely encounter them. The females tend to remain in or near their burrows and are likely to come out only if dug up or flooded out. The males will go roaming in autumn or early winter looking for a mate and at this time people can encounter them.