Symptoms Of Shedding In Stimmie?

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Muhchelly

Reaction score
Hey guys! Sorry if this is a silly question. I've searched for an answer on this and haven't found anything concrete.

I am new at snake keeping and have only had my 3 year old stimmie for 2 months.
His last shed was two months ago and he is currently showing strong symptoms of shedding again. Is this normal for an adult stimmie? I thought they shed a lot less often once they mature.

I've noticed the following:
1. He spends a lot of time in his hide now
2. He now moves very slowly
3. His belly has a slight pinkish hue
4. His eye caps were cloudy and now clear but you can clearly see a "crinkle" in one of them

The thing I'm concerned about is that just today I noticed his face looked the SLIGHTEST bit swollen. And the skin around his head is softer and looser. Is this also an indication of shedding?

I'm worried this might be the start of an RI. As I don't monitor the humidity too much in his enclosure - I simply mist every second day or so, and am afraid I may have over done it!

Sorry for the slab of text! I'm trying to learn as much as I can and any input would be much appreciated.

From your description, and without photos, it sounds like he is going to shed. I wouldn't be misting like that, unless he is a problem shedder. A shallow water bowl with a large surface area should both provide enough humidity and room for him to soak for a shed.
The other reason he could be hiding away is the time of year. He is starting to go into brumation.