Thinking about doing a DIY viv...

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rialla

Not so new Member
Reaction score
Hi all! :)

I haven't got any lizards at the moment (I'm still a noob, so I'm in the process of doing all the necessary research), but I'm planning on getting a blue tongue or a bearded dragon in about 6 months/a year.

Basically through my research so far I've discovered that you can create your own viv from an old tv unit, and I really like the idea of making something special for my lizard, and really personalizing everything.

So what I'm wondering is:
A) What do I need to install inside the viv, so that my lizard would be healthy?
B) What is the shortest/tallest height that would be okay, so my lizard wouldn't get burnt or anything from the heat lamp, etc?
C) Do you think a noob making their own DIY viv is too ambitious?

Umm, I think that's all of the questions I have for now, so any and all help would be much appreciated, thanks! :)

For those sorts of lizard, you don't need much height, but need more length. TV units tend to be an awkward shape. Go to the NSW licensing site to find out the minimum sizes of the enclosure, as you are in NSW and subject to the code of practice here.

Spend some time looking at enclosures in pet shops and in this DIY section. See how much work people put into them. Some are amazingly detailed and beautiful. Others are more functional, but fine for the animal. It depends on what you want in your house. It is well worth prowling during the next cut side cleanup or hanging around the local op shops to look for a piece of furniture to convert. Once you know the minimum size, it makes the choice easier.