Vertical Enclosure Refurb

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

littlemay

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'd like to preface this by saying that i have never done anything like this before, but i like to think i have a pretty good head on me and that (with some help from some handy friends) i might be able to make this enclosure into something really special.

I picked up this great looking pine enclosure a week ago from RiPPle (thanks again mate, it was a bit of an effort getting it down from Newcastle to Sydney, but we got there in the end!).

sgnvww.jpg

nyqky.jpg

1joo76.jpg

My plans are this:

- Sand down the whole thing, re-stain a deep mahogany colour, seal with CFP.

- Replace wire mesh with false ceiling, install 2 halogen down lights.

- Install background with high profile basking ledge below halogens.

- Get some of those really lovely polished chrome enclosure handles from Virides

Since the enclosure is currently varnished, i figure i should go over it with medium grit sand paper before finishing it with something like 220 grit?

I'm planning to use a water based based stain, maybe 2-3 coats depending on the sort of depth i get, sanding between each coat. Any suggestions of a good stain to use? Will seal with several coats of water based satin CFP

My main concern is with the false ceiling + down lights. At present the distance between the mesh and upper ceiling is only about 12 cm, which i don't think will be enough clearance for the amount of heat being produced. I figured i might be able to increase this to about 20cm by recessing the false ceiling lower than where the mesh sits at the moment, would this be enough room?