yellow spotted monitor advice.

Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

monitordude

Reaction score
hi, im thinking about getting a hatchling yellow spotted monitor:), I would like to see your yellow spots and enclosures, and some useful info in keeping them.
thanks ridgie.

Well here are a few of my enclosure. Im only new to monitors myself, so I dont know if Im doing it right, but Tiny seems happy, and Im learning a lot from other keepers. Hope this is helpful. I bought the aviary with Tiny, its about 2 1/2 m by 2m. I cut the door in half, so I could open the top half, and leave the bottom half closed for feeding time. Im also intending on cutting out a piece of the roof and attatching a piece of that see through roofing to allow longer light hours.
photos043.jpg

photos042.jpg

photos031.jpg

tinyresized2.jpg

tinyresized.jpg

Tiny is about 45cms from nose to vent. The female Im getting on Saturday is about 25cms, and Im putting her into a smaller aviary that I bought for Tiny in the beginning. Its about 1.5m by.8m floor space. Its a chicken pen from Bunnings. Flat pack, cost about $200. Otherwise, at that size, keep it inside for a while, in a decent sized enclosure. Not sure about u.v needs though, Maybe someone else knows

Sorry ridgie, that typed out a little short and attitudey. (I've got the royal irrates with my 40yo flatmate)