Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum

Help Support Aussie Pythons & Snakes Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stretched88

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Well as the title states, i am new to reptiles.

My partner and i are looking at getting either a snake or bearded dragon. However i am leaning more to snake as we were informed by the pet store that they take a little less up keep.

So about me, i'm 24, about to have a baby with my partner, live in qld, and really like snakes!

What we are looking for. I would really like a snake that stays smallish, has a very docile temperament, but perhaps is of curious nature, and also something that just stands out ie: colour.

At the store today i bombarded the lady with questions, but she gave me soooo much information about snakes. I was able to hold a Stimson python, only 2 months old. Which was great for me because with a smaller snake, i can get comfortable with is as it grows.

So some questions for some of you who maybe a bit more experienced. Would you recommend a Stimson, taking into consideration the above criteria i am looking to cover? Or perhaps there are other types that i should take a look at?

Also, one question i forgot to ask at the store was, health problems? Do they have any?

Obviously any other info you can pass onto a newbie would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Sam.

I would recommend a stimsons, i dont own one myself but ive heard on this site that they are very docile snakes and are recommended as first snake, i own a woma python which is my first snake and she is great, she can be moody at times but she is still a hatchling.
I recommend you do lots a research on the type of species you want to own.

Welcome mate. It sounds like you are making all the right moves and attempting to get all the info before getting into the hobby so well done.